Finally, a Vegan Resolution in the Philippines.

I have come across this link ( Doctors, nutritionists launch Vegan Resolution 2013) from Facebook and I am so thrilled to know that soon they will launch it here in the Philippines. I am positive that it will be a success; because of the abundance in agriculture and the rich in natural resources of “the land of the rising sun!”.

On my journey of becoming a Vegan, I have discovered that prior to the western food influence and coming of the Spaniards our foods were vegan (mostly). We have delicacies cooked with “muscovado” (unrefined brown sugar) as a sweetener and coconuts as a creamer etc., our rice were unrefined and unbleached, not to mention that our viands mostly have ingredients that were made up of vegetables. Note, it was all organic because there were no pesticides during that time. My father used to tell me that my granny had a garden at their backyard and all the veggies and fruits will just be uprooted from the garden. WOW. Imagine, and the lifespan of people were up to 90 years old ( as oppose to the lifespan today is 60). My grandfather died at 88 and he was a pure vegan because he was obsessed with fruits and vegetables; he also had utmost respect for food; he believed that you should present your food beautifully on the table regardless of what kind. Of course he was not aware of veganism, but I am sure you get my point. The elders had a healthy VEGAN lifestyle (without them knowing it) and a longer life back then. Fascinating, isn’t it. Despite of the influence we can still turn 360 degrees and go back to that lifestyle. Philippines is a tropical country and our natural resources–we have gargantuan supply and they just pop out on their own, yes because we are rich with fertiled soil. Such potential.

Four years ago, my insatiable quest for a healthy living landed me on the world of veganism. I bought my first vegan book entitled “Skinny Bitch”, then came next the “Skinny Bitch in the Kitch” and a year after that the book of Alicia Silverstone, “The Kind Diet”. I got so fascinated with such world that I even tried to persuade my family to read my books and live the lifestyle. Of course, there were debates and so on, but few got the hang of it ( that was good enough for me). However, I struggled, since the awareness was limited at the time. Hence, my practise of being vegan was not consistent. Nevertheless, my heart have always hoped that someday, the society I am living in, will embrace my world. I am certain that there were other people have already been into the zone but, share the same longing as mine.

Fast forward, it is amazing to note that the curiousity and education has increased rapidly. Time went by. Now, this launch will soon be taken place; it is a revolution in the Filipino’s eating habit and way of life. I can now picture the opulence of vegan grocery stores and restaurants- what a relief would that be.

I wish to be part of this campaign and adapt the lifestyle consistently. I wish I can be included in the group that will form their campaign. Anyone from the organizers happened to read this- count me in. 🙂

http://business.inquirer.net/102221/doctors-nutritionists-launch-vegan-resolution-2013

5 thoughts on “Finally, a Vegan Resolution in the Philippines.

  1. Great post! You’r grandfather had the right idea (even if he didn’t call it veganism). You’re lucky to have access to wonderful, healthy fruits and vegetables all year long. In the colder climate I live in, food needs to be frozen or shipped in from warm places. It’s better than nothing, but it doesn’t taste the same. I’m vegan too and I would never go back. It’s so healthy and humane.

    • Hi jean, thank you for the kind words. My point exactly, we are so fortunate to have such access but Filipino disregard our god given gift. (I am speaking in general). I have pictured the vegan potential of my country based on what we already have. Soon our treasure will be deeply appreciated. I can hardly wait.
      I admire you for your determination of practising veganism despite of the shortcomings. You just inspired me to appreciate more of what we have here. I agree with you, apart from feeling healthy and humane, I find vegan people so friendly and always positive. That is why I never turn back on the lifestyle. (although not perfect).
      Thank you for following and finding time to read my blog and left a comment. I will continue to write about the transition of the Philippines into a 100% vegan or almost. Have a nice

  2. Very impressive write-up…keep sharing your thoughts…you might change someone’s life into a better one. I am a fan 🙂 God bless you!

Leave a Reply

